I Know It’s My Job, But…

It amazes me when employees tell their bosses what they won’t do.

I’ll give you an example.

The other day at work, I had to run to one of our job sites at the hospital to do some pre-housekeeping housekeeping. All this means is I took a vacuum with me and ran it over the whole job. Once. I didn’t have to scrub anything off the carpet. I didn’t have to tear down any protective plastic off the walls. I had to run a vacuum. And it’s not that I’m upset that I had to go do this. I took my sweet time and enjoyed a job that wasn’t the one I’ve been on for the last few weeks. But what amazed me was how I ended up running a vacuum in the first place.

Apparently, housekeeping had come to check out the job and told their boss(es) that they weren’t going to clean it because it was too messy. I’ll let that sink in for a minute. They weren’t going to do their job because it would have meant doing their job. It wasn’t a hard job. It involved vacuuming. I’ve always been under the impression that the vacuum was the housekeepers weapon-of-choice. I digress.

The whole thing got me thinking about what would happen if I decided to tell my boss that I wasn’t going to do my job for whatever reason. It would probably go something like this:

Me: Yeah… I’m not gonna put in this insulation.
Boss: What?
Me: You heard me.
Boss: And why not?
Me: It’s itchy.
Boss: You’re fired.

Who gets away with telling their boss what they will and won’t do?!

What would the scenario look like if you told YOUR boss you weren’t going to do your job?

Published by

Alex

ever learning.

4 thoughts on “I Know It’s My Job, But…”

  1. Wife: Could you run the vacuum, please?
    Me: What do I look like, yer SLAVE? Get off my back, woman!
    Wife: …Excuse me?
    Me: Yes, ma’am.

  2. “I Know It’s My Job, But…” Part II:

    I was in Walmart with Mom today. Her bag of apples didn’t have the barcode scanner-thing on it. THREE employees stood around and watched her go back to the fruit aisle to grab a new bag to scan. And then the woman at the check-out continued to run her mouth about whatever kept popping into her head that she apparently thought she needed to say as she slowly finished moving items across a glass square and fought with the plastic bags that were out-smarting her.

  3. My co-worker just walked to the freezer and said, “I wonder what it’s like to be an ice-maker that doesn’t make ice? Sounds like a pretty easy/lazy job to me!” I obviously thought of you right away…and ran back to my computer to leave my comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

